

Public Notice

January 6, 2024

## MCM TO HOLD AN ELECTIVE GENERAL ASSEMBLY (EGA)

The Media Council of Malawi (MCM) wishes to remind its stakeholders that the Elective General Assembly (EGA) will be held on **Friday**, **12th January 2024 in Lilongwe** at Crossroads Hotel from 8am to 5pm.

The Council is also reminding its stakeholders that the composition of the Board of Trustees is based on elective slots as per the Constitution clause 6.1.1 which says that; "the Board of Trustees shall have a maximum of 11 (eleven) and a minimum of 7 (seven) members comprising representatives from paid up media members; members of the public appointed from each of the following institutions: the Public Affairs Committee (PAC), the Council for Non-Governmental Organizations (CONGOMA) and the Malawi Law Society (MLS); and a Chairperson who shall be a person of very high standing in society who may be a veteran in the media profession or a highly respected member of the public with passion for the media in the country".

On 20<sup>th</sup> November 2023, MCM published a notice of the EGA and called for all interested candidates for the position of **Board Chairperson** to submit their Expressions of Interest to the MCM Secretariat by Friday, 15th December 2023. Meanwhile, the Secretariat has one Expression of Interest from Dr. Jolly Ntaba, a veteran Journalist, currently a Lecturer of Media Studies at the Malawi University of Business and Applied Sciences (MUBAS), and a Media Consultant.

Further to the composition of the Board of Trustees, the MCM Constitution stipulates that seven Trustees should be elected from the membership "Provided that the media members shall always be drawn from: (a) one community media house (b) one religious media house (c) one private print media house (d) one private electronic media house (e) one public media institution (f) Directorate of information as ex-officio (g) Online media institution".

Below is an updated list of paid-up members who are eligible to attend, contest and vote for positions as guided by the MCM Constitution.

The updated list and MCM Constitution can also be accessed on the MCM website.

NO.	NAME OF ORGANISATION
	CATEGORY A: PUBLIC MEDIA INSTITUTIONS
1.	MBC Radio/TV
	CATEGORY B: COMMUNITY OF INTEREST- RELIGIOUS MEDIA
2.	TWR (Trans World Radio)
3.	C.A.N Radio/TV
4.	Timveni Radio
5.	Radio ABC
6.	CHANCO Radio/TV
7.	Tuntufye Radio
8.	Radio Maria
9.	PL FM
10.	Yoneco FM
	CATEGORY C: GEOGRAPHICAL COMMUNITY MEDIA
11.	Umunthu FM
12.	Likoma Radio
13.	Bembeke FM
14.	Kasungu FM
15.	Neno FM
16.	Hope Education Radio
17.	Litala (Febe) FM
18.	Linga FM
19.	Chisomo Radio
20.	Radio Tigabane
21.	Love FM
22.	Nyanthepa FM
23.	Mzimba Community Radio
24.	Story Club FM
	CATEGORY D: PRINT PRIVATE MEDIA
25.	Nation Publications Limited (NPL)
26.	Blantyre Newspapers Limited (BNL)
27.	Montfort Media
	CATEGORY E: ELECTRONIC PRIVATE MEDIA
28.	Capital FM
29.	MIJ FM
30.	Times Radio
31.	Angaliba Radio
32.	Mibawa TV
33.	Zodiak Broadcasting Station (Radio & TV)

	CATEGORY F: ONLINE MEDI HOUSES
34.	AfricaBrief
35.	Kulinji.com
	CATEGORY G: EX-OFFICIO-Min of INFO
36.	Directorate of Information
	CATEGORY H: MEDIA TRAINING INSTITUTION
37.	Malawi University of Business and Applied Sciences (MUBAS)
38.	Pentecostal Life University (PLU)

For any inquiries or clarifications, please contact the MCM Executive Director.

Signed:

Moses Kaufa

Cell: +265999558052/ +265888877999

Executive Director

Email: ed@mediacouncil-mw.org

Media Council of Malawi

Website: www.mediacouncil-mw.org